Need financial advice for starting a new school.

reddraggon

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a martial arts gym instructor for 3 years now. I am planning to start a martial arts school of my own. I have so many friends and contacts who would join my gym. Also, I have talked with an experienced teacher to train at my gym.

What's bothering me is the Capital required. I am confident that I can run the school to success. My initial thought is to apply for a loan. I have eyed a perfect spot for my gym. I have about 25% of the cost of purchasing the property. I have a doubt whether to go to a broker or directly a bank. I read a blog on this on the benfits of seeing a broker. Bank Vs Broker | Canada's Mortgage Website It is true that brokers may be able to provide a lot of options, but a Bank is a trusted place.

What would you recommend me? Will I be able to get a loan for a business as this will be my first loan of any time.

Please, help me make my dream.

Thanks in advance.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I would suggest that you need to be talking to someone familiar with running a business and probably a financial/business advisor. Nothing you've given here -- or should give here! -- tells me whether a bank will give you a loan at all...

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Some of the other members here can give you advice on important considerations for running a martial arts school as a successful business. The issue of whether you can get a business loan and for how much is a different matter. That will come down to matters like your credit history, available collateral, existing income (not projected income from your theoretical school), and possibly any history of running a profitable business in the past. If those don't look good to the bank, you're unlikely to even get to the point of being able to sell them on your business plan.