New to owning a school

ShinKen

White Belt
Reaction score
[FONT=&quot]First of all, hello to everyone. I have been reading martial talk for a while now getting some great info, but now I have a question that may have been asked, but I can't find it anywhere.

I am still in the planning phase, but I want to open and own my own school. I have been running a very successful school for almost 10 years now and I want to move up. Here is the problem:

My current school is technically a franchise. We have over 20 schools owned by different people, but they share the name. We are our own organization that certifies our black belts and our instructors. If I wanted to open a school with this same name, I would need an insane amount of money that cannot be loaned, but if I open my own school, I feel it might be kicking my instructor in the face. Also, if I did my own thing, my rank gets revoked. I know he can never take my knowledge, but I would have nothing to put on the wall to prove I am a 4th dan, and as you other instructors know, our students need to see that.

The next problem is the fact that I don't know how I can get promoted beyond 4th. I do currently train in another art, but I have only been doing it for a year. I am a member of the American Kenpo Karate Association, and they said they will recognize me as a 4th dan in American Karate, but they can't promote me beyond that.

I guess the question is, should I just bail on my dream since getting into the franchise I work for is not possible, or should I do my own thing? And if I do, is there an organization I can join that would recognize my rank, and can someday promote me beyond 4th?

Sorry this got so long, but I am desperate for help. Any help would be great.[/FONT]

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score