Martial arts style v style rant

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
That is categorically not true. If your argument is that the people coming out of sport arts have more experience against someone else that is a point I would be willing to acknowledge because of experience against an opponent.

But...sports have rules. There are no weapons. It is 1 on 1. And the ground? The ground is typically hard. Not soft. And if you take that sport like MMA out into the street...you might be delivering accurate punches or grappling, but the other guy very easily could be pulling a gun/knife/stick/brick/soup can and delivering strikes. He also may be a hell of a lot tougher and meaner. And he may not fee too bad about kicking you in the crotch or throat punching you.

And I'm primarily a sport martial artist. But I carry a gun.

Now...if you are talking about that art that is all "pressure points" and magic punches (what is it? Systema?)...then I agree lol. But other arts like Kung Fu...are actually surpassingly effective and brutal....if applied correctly. I love watching the Kung Fu guys spar at my gym.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Not really.

The idea put forward that if you train without rules you will have a better ability to deal with a gun/knife/stick doesn't really work.

Mostly because people dont train without rules.

Partly because guns knives sticks are such an advantage that It may not matter what you train.

And lastly if you are limited to what you can train how real you can train and how much one person is reasonably expected to be handle.

The you should at least get that part right.

oaktree

Master of Arts
Reaction score