Martial arts in 3D art

Stephanie

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I'm a 3D artist who draws some martial arts pictures in 3D background. I'm sorry if I've choosed an incorrect subforum, can you give me a piece of advice? Can you let me know, what's wrong in some fighting pictures I've made - for example, I've received a feedback "The girl never practised any martial art" for this picture:
http___mixedbattles_com_teenagers_mixed_wrestling_by_q1911-dc3c871.jpg

It was a custom gallery, I've just made a pose that was descrived by customer. I have no experience in martial arts like boxing (I've just wrestled a bit in high school), so I don't know where is my error in this face punch. What's wrong in her move?

I'll be grateful for all answers from martial arts experts, it would be nice to know when I can find some pictures with sequences of combat poses.

hoshin1600

Senior Master
Reaction score
yeah human bio mechanics is not an easy subject for someone to explain to you. i would suggest spending a lot of time watching people actually ring fight if that is what your going to draw.

as a quick example. the girls right hand is actually very accurate for "she throws like a girl" the position is wrong for anything effective as a punch. her weight is to far back, is she left handed? these mechanics lead me to believe so. her foot is not actually touching the floor, its floating. otherwise the toes would be bent and pushing into the floor. knee bent, weight forward to dive that punch.

good luck.

Martial D

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I'm a 3D artist who draws some martial arts pictures in 3D background. I'm sorry if I've choosed an incorrect subforum, can you give me a piece of advice? Can you let me know, what's wrong in some fighting pictures I've made - for example, I've received a feedback "The girl never practised any martial art" for this picture: