Kung Fu Federation

Dronak

Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Well, I'm far from an expert here and maybe this is obvious glancing at the site, but it appears to me that they're stressing kung fu as a sport. That's not necessarily bad, but I do wonder if something will be lost in the attempt to standardize it for sport competitions.

J

j_m

Dronak said:
Well, I'm far from an expert here and maybe this is obvious glancing at the site, but it appears to me that they're stressing kung fu as a sport. That's not necessarily bad, but I do wonder if something will be lost in the attempt to standardize it for sport competitions.
I agree for the most part. They even refer to kung fu specifically as a sport.

To me, they are trying to take kung fu in the wrong direction. But hey, you can get a black sash in 3 years!!

jm

T

Trainwreck

I wouldn't call it a good start for people who want to practice kung-fu for the sake of self-defense, but it has potential.

OP
7starmantis

7starmantis

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yeah, in my opinion its things like this that perpetuate misinformation and misunderstanding of real kung fu. With the amount of misconceptions out there, even among the "kung fu" practitioners, this is only going to serve to increase the confusion and stereotypes surrounding CMA. There is nothing sport about what I do and to set a box around it and makes rules for competition only ruins and weakens all the hard work put in. I just dont see anything positive coming from this except maybe more people hearing the words kung fu or wushu, but there are plenty of people who know those words and have no idea what they mean.

7sm

J

j_m