is this sword decent???

rocket999

White Belt
Reaction score
Alright. I am new here, so let me introduce myself. My name is Sam Kelly, and I have been training in Tang So Do for six years now. I have had my black belt for a year now.

I am looking for a new sword. It won't be used for cutting, just for katas and practice. I have a very small budget. While looking around I found this one.

http://www.swordsoftheeast.com/masahiroassembleyourselfsamuraiswordblack.aspx

Does anyone own this sword? Is it solid? Would it be a good choice? I originally saw it listed for $200 on another website before I saw it there.

Keep in mind that I won't be using it for cutting. I know how much those would cost...

Thank you for any input.

Sam Kelly

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The short answer, as you probably expected, is a resounding "No!". :D.

The slightly longer answer is that for your first blade you do not want something you are going to have to assemble yourself when you don't know the first thing about swords.

The only real answer that you can get is to talk with your sensei and see what he or she recommends. The only thing more dangerous than a shinken in the hands of someone untrained is a cheap 'wallhanger'.

It speaks to your good-sense that you thought to ask at a place where people might know what constitutes a decent enough sword but we really can't give you meaningful advice by remote, so to speak.

Sukerkin

MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Even for 'just' kata practise, which is what most Japanese swordwork is, you need to get the best blade you can afford. Here are a few links to places where you can get swords of sufficient quality:

http://www.jidai.jp/ready-mlist.asp

http://www.tozandoshop.com/category_s/40.htm

http://www.ninecircles.co.uk/items.asp?CatID=22