Sword katas

thardey

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
(Warning -- long post)

Hello,

I have a few questions, and the "search" option didn't yield any results. Normally I am a lurker in forums in general, because I usually don't have any new questions, but I have some specifics in mind, that aren't covered by the "I'm a newbie, please tell me about a website that will make me an uber swordfighter" kind of nonsense.

First, my background, then the questions. :samurai:

I have a 1st degree black in Chun Kuk Do (The style that Chuck Norris developed). Weapons include Nunchaku and Bo staff, although personal choice in weapons is highly encouraged. Others in my school also are fond of sai and kama, although it's not officially part of the curriculum. Put very simply, the philosophy of CKD is to study all forms of Martial Arts, and use the techniques and strategies that work best for you. Sort of a "try and find the best of all worlds" kind of approach. (BTW, this is why it's sometimes hard to "define" what CKD looks like - we all practice it a little different.) "Chun Kuk Do" translates to "The Universal Way".

Along with Karate, I have studied Western Historical Fencing (Think ARMA, for those of you who know what that is) for about 8 years. Mostly 17th century rapier, and sword and buckler (a small round shield).:enguard: I've studied a combination of Marrozzo, Thibault, and Saviolo. The Renaissance theory of learning was that everything is related. Music, fencing, astronomy, geometry, architecture, etc. Again, you have a "Jack of all trades, master of none" kind of approach.