Is there really anything you can't teach yourself?

DoubleZ711

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
As far as martial arts go, is there really anything you can't learn on your own (alone in the sense that you don't have a proper instructor, not that you don't have a sparring partner) besides things like how to do a proper horse stance and silly things like that?

When I think about it, it just seems to me like most martial arts in general mainly teach people improve their reflexes, reaction time, and coordination, which are all things one can do if they use their common sense when training. Things like joint-locks and grappling techniques to me seem like they could be self-taught from either watching videos of others, reading a martial arts guide, or even just coming up with stuff on your own, provided you have a partner you can try your ideas on.

I guess theoretically it is possible, as that is how people come up with new styles of martial arts, but what do you think?

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
You can learn anything by yourself the thing is do you really know what you have tought yourself, if it will really work without proper instruction. You see a tech is more than a movement but a sense of feeling one can only truely get with the proper instruction.

redantstyle

Blue Belt
Reaction score
sure, you can reinvent the wheel.

not sure you will get very far down the road, though.

and somethings you just wont figure out unless your a genius.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hey guys,

How's the weather in your neck of the woods? It's pretty sunny and downright balmy here in good old San Francisco. Just checking in, wondering how y'all are gettin on. Things going well? alrighty then.

*chirp, chirp, chirp*

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score