Is self-defence really necessary?

Gyakuto

Senior Master
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Lot of newbies posting questions on here cite self-defence as a major reason to start the martial arts. My question is if there are lots of attacks, muggings etc in the USA (this is predominantly an American board) that require you to be able to defend yourself? I have never met anyone who’s been attack or mugged although I’ve heard of bar room scuffles after drinking too much.

Is the USA a particularly violent place to live?

Taiji Rebel

Black Belt
Reaction score
As a fellow UK resident I cannot shine any light on the American situation. Martial arts often seem to attract those seeking to protect themselves from violence. After a short period of attending a school the emphasis changes toward learning the art by becoming fitter, flexible and more skilled. A fair number of people also find the competitive aspects a big draw too. In my experience, those who come solely for self-defence purposes usually shift their perspective, or leave.

America is obviously a much bigger country than the UK, but I would imagine it's more or less the same. There will be areas which are more violent than others, just as certain elements of cities and various locations in the UK are dangerous if you are unaware of the signs and don't belong there. It will interesting to hear what our American cousins have to say on the topic.

Last edited:

Wing Woo Gar

Senior Master
Reaction score
Lot of newbies posting questions on here cite self-defence as a major reason to start the martial arts. My question is if there are lots of attacks, muggings etc in the USA (this is predominantly an American board) that require you to be able to defend yourself? I have never met anyone who’s been attack or mugged although I’ve heard of bar room scuffles after drinking too much.