IKCA Karate Connection.

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score
Just wanted to know what you all think of the IKCA and Mr. Sullivan?

Does anybody here train with or belong to the IKCA?

Just wanting to know what you all think. Out of curiosity.

Thanks ahead of time.

Big Pat

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I follow the IKCA system and renewed my Kenpo training with it. It reminds me of Mr. Parker's Chinese Kenpo that I studied in the 70's. You can run a search here at Martialtalk (IKCA, Distance learning,or Mr. Sullivan, etc) for the various threads.There is also great information at the IKCA website. Mr. Sullivan in one of Mr. Parker's early Black belts and can truly say, "Been there, done that" in Kenpo. Try it you might like it. It will at the very least give you an insight into what Kenpo is all about.

EKP RIP
Big Pat

Hand Sword

Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
In the Void (Where still, this merciless GOD torme
searcher said:

Thanks ahead of time.
I have seen him via videos over the computer, and could say that he comes across as a warm, and genuine person. That does count when it comes to teaching, and the idea of trimming the system down does make sense in terms of learning self defense skills. The more variations you add to deal with the same stimuli, the longer it will take your brain to filter through and come up with the movement to deal with the situation, when presented. I feel you should get live training, and use the videos to compliment your training. Plus, I like the EPAK system's way of laying out the material. It gives one a good place to start when formulating a response to an attack--Kenpo is definitely practical, and logical, and can fit with any system.

Dark Kenpo Lord

Brown Belt
Reaction score
searcher said:

Thanks ahead of time.
1. I believe you should have posted this question in the General section.

2. Are you asking about the material or just the IKCA in general?

DarK LorD

Dark Kenpo Lord

Brown Belt