Does anyone else on MT surf?

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Oh HERE we go :rolleyes: another shamless "HEY!!! I live in Hawaii" thread :D

Nope never surfed and never wanted to, I never had the desire to troll for sharks and be the bait at the same time :uhyeah:

I am however considering snowboarding, does that count :)

OP
Makalakumu

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Hawaii isn't the only place you can surf. Heck, I used to body surf on Lake Superior when the conditions were right and the waves were breaking regularly.

Right now, I'm just learning to ride a longboard. I can paddle out and catch waves okay. Getting up on the board is easier because of my MA training.

I mostly hang on breaks where the waves get no bigger then 3-6 feet. Any more then that and I get slammed. I'm just not that good yet.

There are some good breaks on the south shore of Oahu that are pretty consistent. Queen's, Canoes, White Plains, Barber's Point are mostly where I'm at.

The other day I scraped up my leg on the coral after a wipe out. That ended my surfing for a while. It's not a good idea to mix chumming with surfing. ;)

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
When I lived in California every morning we would hit the beach for some surfing, Huntington Beach and Laguna Beach has some great waves.

OP
Makalakumu

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Did anyone else find that their MA training helped with surfing?

I found that it helps my strength, stamina, and balance out on the waves. Also, with ukemi, I feel pretty comfortable falling. Except on coral. Thats like falling on a cheese grater.

JadecloudAlchemist

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I surf. My dad surfed and he taught me.

I surfed up and down Florida. My dad use to take me to Sebastian inlet and on the way up tell me about all the shark attack that happen there and then throw me in the water!!