A Revisit to USSD

S

Satori

Trip Back to My Roots:
-An “Intro” class with USSD

DISCLAIMER: This is not intended to be a self-advertisement or a shameful exposition of my skills. I have several injuries, am relatively out of shape, and I'm a bit rusty. Even though I have 12 years of experience (4 of it with USSD when I was younger), I consider myself an average "Advanced" student. In addition, I have met MANY wonderful Shaolin Kempo practitioners and instructors, and this review is not meant as an insult to the style, but rather the practices of the organization in question.

EDIT: I wasn't sure where this went, so I apologize if it is in the wrong place. Also, for those living in the midwest or outside of America, The United Studios of Self Defense (USSD for short) is a virus-like franchise that is slowly consuming the Martial Arts economy. Their practices typically include year long unbreakable contracts, "Black Belt Clubs", huge testing fees, and monthly tuition in excess of $200 a month.

Without further ado...

--I leave the office to pile my car right next to the mass of moving vehicles clogging the 805 Freeway heading North. I leave at 3:30 pm, and at exactly 4:30 pm 12 miles north are achieved through bumper to bumper, breakdown inspiring traffic. Seeing that the traffic will continue clear on to my exit, I take an earlier one and head for the back roads. An ingenious idea, I thoughtÂ…of course, everyone else thought that too.

So, with a long line of cars ahead of me, I turn into a strip mall for a moment of sanity and perhaps a vanilla shake. As my eyes scan the parking lot, I am shocked to see a sign advertising the organization that started me on the path of martial arts, the style that started it allÂ…the style that almost ruined me on organized martial arts for good.