WWII - an unnecessary waste and the fault of England?

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Somehow, I have managed to not read this post by Lew Rockwell until now, nor did I know of Pat Buchanon's book that he cites. Now I have my summer reading list started. Interesting accusations, not sure what to make of it. I'm a student of history - but emphasis on 'student'.

Any comments here? I don't have any preconceived notions here, I'm genuinely looking for observations by any who have read this book.

http://www.lewrockwell.com/vance/vance173.html

Whenever I write about the folly of war, I inevitably get e-mail from some armchair warrior who says something like: "You [pacifist, appeaser, liberal, communist, traitor, America-hater, peacenik, coward]! Don’t you know that if the U.S. military had not intervened to stop Hitler we would all be speaking German right now?"

A greater lie has never been uttered.

Churchill, Hitler, and the Unnecessary War debunks the myths about World War II being necessary and demolishes the arguments offered in defense of World War II as a "good" war.

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
The fault of England? Oh well the Celtic nations will be pleased at that!

Believe what you want, really, really don't care, the Americans love of changing history is well known as is that of their habit of criticising everyone and everything non American ( can't even get the correct country in the thread title) so *shrugs* let them get on with it. Everything is simple in hindsight.

The only bit I would point out is that the killing of Jews and others started in the 1930s not at the start of the war as the article seems to imply.

Empty Hands

Senior Master
Reaction score