Wireless Router Suggestions

MBuzzy

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm getting ready to set up a wireless network for my soon to be in-laws. I am by no means a computer person - but I've done a few networks before.

Basically I'm just looking for a GOOD wireless Router. We will be connection at least 2 laptops, one desktop on a different floor, and hardwiring one computer into the Router. They use a Cable modem for internet.

I've had trouble with both a Linksys Wireless-B router and a Belkin Router. Both of them worked for a while, then started crapping out. The Linksys eventually got to the point that it didn't work at all and the Belkin got to the point (after about 6 months of use) that it had to be unplugged and plugged back in about every 20-30 minutes for it to work.

Any suggestions, has anyone had GOOD experiences? Also, I have no experience with Wireless N......Do I need B, G, or N? Thanks!!!

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Any suggestions, has anyone had GOOD experiences? Also, I have no experience with Wireless N......Do I need B, G, or N? Thanks!!!

Used a D-Link at work when we had a wireless network, never had any major problems.

B, G and N are just different standards. N is the fastest, followed by G, B is pretty dated. But for it to work both your router and your NIC need to support it. Most go backwards though, so a "n" one likely supports "g" and "b" connections

I'm surprised with the problems you had, I'm pretty sure I've used both those brands and not had anything like that happen on any of them.

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I've always had good luck with Netgear wireless router products. As long as you get one that hasn't been opened by someone who didn't know how to properly install one, they're pretty easy to set up.