Wing Chun and You

ella_guru

White Belt
Reaction score
Now I know the mind has a tendency to draw parallels to everything else it knows, and I guess that's kind of what prompted this thread (that and I know people are on this forum just pretty shy to post I guess?)

I'm curious how Wing Chun fits into your life. Someone in my Kwoon is a dishwasher so he just goes into horse stance why at work to protect his back and build up his stamina.

For me, I don't get to train quite as much as I want. I'd like to do an hour or two every day, but I just do SLT everyday and then go to the Kwoon a couple times a week for two hours. That being said, I'm a professional musician and it really has changed that for me. While I'm used to engaging in long periods of mental work, the physical thing is an interesting component. I find now when I go to perform it's a lot less nerve wrecking, because basically...

When sparring you are trying to execute what you have practiced, while someone else tries to punch you.

When performing you are just trying to executed what you have practiced.

Now that's a bit of an oversimplification but since starting Wing Chun performing has been a lot easier because hey, at least you are (mostly) guaranteed they aren't going to strike you while you are playing.

So I'm glad for this, and glad to be training the body alongside my mind. I also find myself talking to different kinds of people, lots of MMA guys and just talk about combat, fluidity of motion, east / west ideas and how it all came to be, stuff like that. Since I read fairly often it has also opened up a whole new section of the bookstore for me to peruse hah.

So what are the pros/cons/discoveries of your Wing Chun journey in relation to the other facets of your life?

BloodMoney

Green Belt
Reaction score