Whips and Chains

Zepp

Master of Arts
Reaction score
The woods of Marin County, California, USA
No, no, this isn't a thread about anyone's love life. :D

While whips aren't exactly common "street" weapons, it seems to me that a long chain might be. I was curious, does anyone practice defenses against these types of weapons? If you do, how do you go about it? Got any recommended tactics for someone who has to deal with a chain-wielding attacker?

How similar is fighting someone with a whip to someone with a chain?

Any information or clever insight is welcome. :asian:

Jay Bell

Master Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I studied a bit of chain with Vlad at his seminar here not too long ago. Very interesting work.

The greatest thing about chain training -- It's an honest weapon. If you move wrong or weak, you get hit. You can't cheat a chain.

We worked a great deal in disarming chain attacks as well as learning to wrap limbs and control with the chain. It's interesting how simple, natural body movement can take a chain moving at very high speeds and turn it instantly to slow motion.

Brian King

Master of Arts
Supporting Member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
The Vlad seminar was fun wasn’t it!

To start to understand the chain get a short length (about 4 feet) not to thick but not that real then stuff. It should have some weight to it. Grab it on one end and just start to move it around a little. Now and then poke at it with your free hand or a foot or leg. Watch what happens to the running end when you interfere with the momentum and trajectory. (Warning chain is a honest partner, if your face is open the running end or some other part will find it. Be light on you feet!) Once you begin to get this understanding start to let it wrap an arm or leg or any other body part. Then learn how to release the wrap (return with interest). This is an excellent way to learn wave work.