What should I ask, not familiar with CMA

Jimf807

White Belt
Reaction score
I am looking at a school right around the corner from my house. I have no experience with CMA. I have done some research myself but most of the info I found about the owner/Sifu was confirmed through Wikipedia which has been known to be inaccurate. Just wanting the opinion of people familiar with CMA.

Here is their website http://www.mengsmartialarts.com/

Thanks in advance

Jim.

Tensei85

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Lol, It takes me back. A little nostalgic, actually in the past I trained with Sifu Meng for probably around 12 years. With all politics aside, I would say check it out. He has a decent amount of knowledge derived towards Wing Chun, in the past not everyone agreed with all of his methods. (but thats a long story, i'm not going into)

The only thing at the moment most of his curriculum syllabus is derived from his "3 halls of Shaolin" approach which literally is

1st Hall: Gei Bun Gong (Ji ben gong), and Gei Bun Dong Jok
(Basic exercise, Basic movments)
2nd Hall: Heaven(Tien), Human(Yan), Earth(Dei)- T/S/E- Time, space & energy concept.
3rd Hall: Weng Kiu or literally the Wing Chun part of the equation.

So his first hall would resemble what you would see at a Modern Wushu school as for warmups,

His second hall would ecompass the Ti Fa, Da Fa, Suai Fa, Na Fa or literally Kicking methods, striking methods, throwing methods and locking methods.

His third hall is mainly comprised of the Wing Chun body mechanics or what they call "body karma"

I know he states that he now teaches the best of Yip Man Wing Chun, Hokkien Eng Chun, Hung Fa Yi Wing Chun and Chi Sim Weng Chun.

He also spends a lot of focus on MMA now adays as well, so my advice when you go in there is make your intent and focus clear. And he's always a personable instructor and will make you feel at home, but stick to your goal and use your own mind. Make sure not to take everything as being 100% accurate.