What is Stance Training?

HammockRider

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I've been practicing Qi Qong for a few months in order to improve my health and a few days ago after my latest class my teacher told me that he thinks I'm ready to take things up a level and begin a little training in kung-fu(Seven Star Praying Mantis.) I've been working for a few months to hear this so I was very excited. I asked him what I could expect and he said that I'll start with some stance training. I asked what stance training involved and he just smiled and said "Sweating and pain."

I'm still really looking forward to starting kung-fu training, but his answer begs a question of my own. Tell me Oh Martial Talk Forum, What have I gotten myself into?:idunno:

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I've been practicing Qi Qong for a few months in order to improve my health and a few days ago after my latest class my teacher told me that he thinks I'm ready to take things up a level and begin a little training in kung-fu(Seven Star Praying Mantis.) I've been working for a few months to hear this so I was very excited. I asked him what I could expect and he said that I'll start with some stance training. I asked what stance training involved and he just smiled and said "Sweating and pain."

I'm still really looking forward to starting kung-fu training, but his answer begs a question of my own. Tell me Oh Martial Talk Forum, What have I gotten myself into?:idunno:
If you do this stance training stuff, you will find that your knees don't ache as much when doing a form. In short, you will wonder how you ever got along without it.
Sean

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
sweating and pain. that's pretty good. summs it up well.