Visiting other dojangs

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I wonder about the other dojangs in my town. As an instructor, I hear about this or that one all the time. I'm curious as to what they do or have to offer. But, running a school myself, I don't know what the etiquite (sp?)is for such a trip (or if It's even a good idea to go).

On the hand, how is best to handle Master X coming to my school to "check it out?"

I see a dozen either could go badly. I'm looking for thoughts on this to make the scenarios (especially #2) go well.

bluekey88

Senior Master
Reaction score
On the one hand, I can see going to other schools to learn about what they do and maybe network being a good thing. I can also see the other owners being wary because you could be lookibng to "steal" trade secrets as it were. (I'm not saying that waht you;re doing...just it could be perveived that way).

I guess for scenario #1, call ahead. Be very clear as to your intentions. Go from there.

With scenario #2, I'd think if you've got little to hide in the way of training secrtes, then be open an dgratious to your guest. Again, fostering ood will rarely is a bad thing. If your guest is rude or disruptive, then treat him like you might any other disruptive parent, student, visitor and ask him/her to leave.

Peace,
Erik

Last Fearner

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I wonder about the other dojangs in my town. As an instructor, I hear about this or that one all the time. I'm curious as to what they do or have to offer.

I avoid thinking about what other schools in my area are doing. I prefer to believe that this is what they are doing about me. I don't care to go check them out, because I don't believe they have anything to offer me that I don't already have, or that I can't get access to through my own instructor.

But, running a school myself, I don't know what the etiquite (sp?)is for such a trip (or if It's even a good idea to go).