Uechi-ryu Question

C

crbnwdn

I am thinking of beginning to study with a Dojo that teaches the Uechi-ryu style Karate, along with Iaido and Aikido. Is there anyone studying the Uechi-ryu style who could share with me its charateristics and how it compares with other styles of Karate or Kung Fu. Below are suppose to be the credentials of the Sensei for both the Uechi-ryu and Iaido classes.

I teach Muso Jikiden Eishinryu Iaido, in which I am a nanadan (7th degree "black belt",instructor) and have studied for 20 years, 10 of which were in Japan under swordmaster, Noboru Yamashita; and Uechiryu karate, in which I am a godan (5th degree black belt) and have studied for 33 years, one of which was under the great master, Seiyu Shinjo.

Any cooments are appreciated.

Thank you.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If you do a Search for Uechi in this forum you'll find a number of hits.

I studied Uechi-ryu some years back in Providence, RI and found it very interesting. It uses the index-knuckle punch and very circular blocks. Its blocks I found especially effective. It's got a tiger influence and of all major forms of karate is the one most similar to Southern Chinese kung fu (from which all forms of karate principally descend) and one of the softest. It has a quick, snappy feel, it fights mostly forward-facing, and it does a fairly soft Sanchin. The front kick is done with the toe knuckles which actually works out well if you have shoes on. There are a fair number of spearhand and leopard (half-fist) strikes but the focus is on the phoenix-eye fist. It also has some body conditioning/sensitivity exercises.

It's a legitimate, traditional style of Okinawan karate, and in fact is one of the four major styles of Okinawn karate. It's also a relatively newer style of karate, having been brought to Okinawa less than a hundred years ago and modified into a form of karate by the son of the person who brought it back even more recently.