trapping ideas

Y

yin_yang75

Locking for suggestions please.

I use the Muk and do all the energy drills I can in class but I WANT More. I love trapping but it's hard to do by your self.

Besides the dummy, I'm stuck. I want a warm body. but there is nobody to drill with. The dummmy is good for technique but I want counters to counter.

So at this point I'm looking for new drills, techniques, etc to advance my trapping. All sugestions are welcome.

Thanks,

Byron

OP
S

sweeper

well I'm a relativly new student so I don't have much experience in anything ;) But As I understand it "trapping" as it is practiced is realy more sensitivity work, in that regard you realy need a person in front of you so there is movement and energy to feal, it's also important to try to practice it under stress, like in sparring or 2 on one or something like that.

OP
P

pknox

Here's something I've tried that may or may not work for you...

Take one kali stick, and using duct tape, secure it to a heavy bag so that it is perpendicular (the stick should be sticking out, with the butt end facing you). Place it at roughly your shoulder level.

The stick simulates an opponent's outstretched arm. The difference between it and the mook jong is that it moves. If you trap on one side, and then come around to trap the other, you have to be careful the stick does not clock you in the side of the head, or that it has not moved out of your range. To me, that gives it more of a real-world feel than a stationary target.

Let's say you're practicing the 4 gates for example -- when you trap on the inside of the "arm", it moves, changing the opponent's angle. When you go to hit the opponent in his "face"with your free hand, you may find that your target has moved. This often happens in real life as well.

When you're tired of this, add a second "arm" to the bag on the other side. I've never gotten past that, but I guess you could put "legs" on it eventually as well.