Training for tournament sparring - heavyweight

S

shawn313

Hello everyone,

I am a pretty new student to WTF Taekwondo, and would eventually like to compete in tournaments by sparring. I am pretty sure I would always be in a heavyweight weight class, because I am 6'4, and to be under 185 I think would be too thin for my frame. With that in mind, I think there is a pretty good chance I will still be outweighed by a lot of people I would come up against. Now if I am fighting in this weight class, what would be the smartest way for me to train? Is it better to concentrate on calisthenics so my endurance is higher than others, work on my speed more, or get to the gym and lift weights to make sure I have as much power as others in my weight class?

Thanks!
Shawn Robinson

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score
As a side question, what are the weight breakouts? The few tournaments I've been in there have not been enough colored-belt men to breakout into weight divisions so I've just sparred whomever was there. I'm 36yo, 5'11" and about 180lbs

TX_BB

Purple Belt
Reaction score
How old are you? This will help guide me on how much rest you need to grow and get stronger.

The first thing you 'll need to work on is TKD technique and foot work.

In general though, a good basic conditioniong program begins with your own weight. Hence, calesthentics. A good base would be the ability to do these execersies in one session 100 calf rasises, 100 crunches, 25 twist crunches each side, 100 squats, 100 push ups, 5 pull ups, 10 ladders(suicides 10,20,30,40) and a mile continuous run. Basic conditioning phase can take 0-12 weeks depending on your physical condition and limitations.