Training Dilemma

Tebori

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi,I have recently found myself pondering the ethics(or perhaps integrity?) of my own training and was really wondering if anyone has felt the same:-
I have been training in traditional martial arts for most of my life(i'm 46 now).Not long after getting my black sash in Kung Fu,i had surgery for cancer and my confidence took a dive.I didn't feel up to going back to classes so i have just been training/practicing everything i know by myself(for the past 10 years or so).
During the lockdowns i started watching other styles/techniques and this is where i feel my diemma.
If(as an example) i started training from watching You Tube in tonfa which i have never used before but i feel the techniques have a good carry over from unarmed techniques,i have an 'internal argument'.

The pros-I'm only training for myself.I'm not claiming to be something i'm not or teaching people my 'made up' art..

The cons-Coming from a traditional martial arts background of having instructors and training being structured,i feel like a fake or fraud...Like i have no business doing something that was never taught to me in person..
Sorry for the long post but i was hoping for other peoples insights..

mograph

Master of Arts
Reaction score
All pros for you -- good on ya for maintaining your training.
I think that the cons only arise if you present yourself as something you're not.

Look at what you are learning, not as a credential, but as an exploration. Your direct experiences with the information you are receiving are perfectly valid: you see a technique, you try it, you examine your response. You don't jump to presenting yourself as having acquired this skill, or as "training" for the last 10 years, but you look at this as a journey, an experiment, an exploration.