Thoughts on BJJ So far

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
So I've been training for 4 months and gained 1 stripe so thought I'd share opinions on it. Now this is not looking to hate as I love the style and am 100% still carrying on training.

I think it's a lot of fun and you have to be good at it to progress and I like how you can't really fluke the technique or fake your way through in some styles. But I'll also say if I was looking for self defence I wouldn't want it as my only style I do believe for self defence you need to work on strikes and strike defence. Obviously bjj is better than nothing for self defence but I do believe just bjj on it's own isnt as effective as it could be. As the old saying goes. Punch a black belt he becomes a brown belt, punch a brown belt he becomes a purple belt etc.

Even my instructor today said. In a real situation don't just use Jiu Jitsu if your on top throw punches hard and fast and never put yourself on bottom position.

But saying that I'm loving the style and loving learning and to me that's all that matters. I mean I'm old I go to bed at 10 and I've never been in a street fight in my life I doubt I will anytime soon

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
In my opinion, BJJ training should include strikes and strike defense. If you don't have that, you're just training BJJ the sport, not BJJ the martial art.

Nothing wrong with the sport - I'm a fan - but I hate to see the actual martial art falling by the wayside.

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Your training should follow the following order.

footwork -> kicking -> striking -> clinching -> throwing -> ground game (and follow on striking)

You don't want to end up as someone like this.

daily_gifdump_470_15.gif

Charlemagne

Black Belt
Reaction score
In my opinion, BJJ training should include strikes and strike defense. If you don't have that, you're just training BJJ the sport, not BJJ the martial art.