Temple Style Tai Chi

Samurai

Blue Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Can you help an idiot out with a question :)

I went to a Temple Style Tai Chi class yesterday. Loved the class but I wanted some basic information about the system. The instructor was able to provide a boatload of material but I also wanted to talk to my friends here...

The style is called Hwa-Yu T'ai- Chi and is currently headed by Robert Xavier of CT. I understand that his teacher was John Chung Li.

I am looking for a style that can help me learn the "internal" connections and martial applications of the movements. I have 27 years of experience in the "external" martial arts and I am looking to dive more into the internal road.

Any thoughts?
Thanks
Jeremy Bays

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
From what little I know and what I have just found out using some webfu it is not Taiji as we would know Taiji by lineage from Chen family to all other families (Yang, Wu, Wu/Hao, Sunand possibly Zhaobao, but that's another story in and of itself) and it does not even claim a mythical connection to Zhang Sengfeng or any other taijiquan person or family

Temple Taiji or Hwa-Yu Taiji is allegedly from Liuhebafa (Liu Ho Pa Fa) which taijiquan is not from.

Last edited:

mograph

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Yep, it's about Liuhebafa, not Taijiquan. Hey, maybe it has good internal principles, but it ain't Taijiquan.

Here's a book. I have it, and when I get home I'll take another look at it and get back to you.

Quotheraving

Orange Belt
Reaction score
@Samurai- As your emphasis is on martial applications and how to develop internal connections you may give some thought to YiQuan (Da Cheng Chuan).