Teaching across language barrier

lonecoyote

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Has anyone here ever accepted, as a student, someone who didn't speak your language? Would any instructors consider teaching a class in Spanish and English? If not, is that fair to someone who would like to learn your martial art? Would it create too many problems?

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I was a student of a Tai Chi instructor with virtually no English. Occasionally her saughter would stop by and translate if it was something important.

In Alb. there's a kung fu teacher who teaches in Chinese only, on purpose!

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Much of MA can be taught with demonstration and gesture - while I've never had a student with a different oral language, I did have one who was deaf and used ASL and a notepad - she was quite good at copying movements, and we created signals for various patterns, exercises and drills. I also know of a deaf man who earned, I think (it's been some years) either his II or III Dan BB - he had a friend in class who was fluent in ASL, and was constantly looking at her for instructions. Given my choice, I would rather work out signals such as I did with my student (she had other health problems and was unable to continue - the oxygen tank kept getting in the way) than have to rely on another student; what would you do on the one night that the deaf student came and the translator didn't?

Also, since we use Korean terms in class that everyone has to learn, I think that would help non-English speakers; it would just mean that all directions would have to be demonstrated until they learned the Korean terms, rather than giving the Korean and English terms together until new students learn the Korean, which is what generally happens.

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score