Taekwondo Wiki

TrueJim

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
While we're on the topic of the Taekwondo Wiki ( Taekwondo Wiki ) in that "What did old taekwondo look like...?" thread, I thought I'd provide some background for anybody here who's interested in the wiki:

Ancient History

The Taekwondo Wiki was started in I believe 2009? by some ITF-stylers, long before I had resumed practicing taekwondo. I'm not positive which user started the wiki, but some of the earliest users had handles such as JDStew, Leona RebelSpark, and TKDgirl. I know because I can see their names on the Admin page.

When I came across the wiki in 2013, there were only a couple dozen articles, and most of those were only a few sentences long. It saw almost no traffic. Nobody had added any new information in about three years...it lay fallow, dormant, and forgotten.

Meanwhile, in 2013 my young son and I started studying Kukkiwon-style taekwondo, so of course I Googled for some good study notes, especially looking for poomsae diagrams that even a child could understand. Finding none, I developed my own. (I'm not as smart as a philosophy undergrad of course, but I do have a Ph.D. in mathematics, I used to be a college professor, and so it is second nature to me to be a note-taker.)

The other parents at our school saw my notes, liked them, and wanted copies for themselves. So I started a Wordpress blog ( Poomsae.me Taekwondo with little blue robots at http poomsae.me ) as a place to make my notes available. After a while, I realized I needed a more robust system because my notes were becoming too extensive for a blog.