Taekwondo advice concerning transfer of schools

scullinbones

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi I'm new to martialtalk and I was wondering if anyone could give me advice. I am taking a semester long class at my University in Taekwondo and I have been in it for the past 3.5 to 4 months with one two hour class a week. In my last lesson the instructor said that he would be offering testing for yellow belt and that we would receive a certificate of completion of white belt that we would be able to use if we chose to continue Taekwondo by submitting it to a Taekwondo school. I chose not to attend the school where he is employed because it would be such a long commute and I am transferring Universities soon. I was wondering if testing for my yellow belt would be a good idea or if I should start from the beginning at an official school in an official setting rather than a gym. I can give some background on what we have been taught already:

Side kick- Yup chagi
Front kick- Up chagi
Round kick- Duhl yoo chagi
low block- Ah rae makgi
high block- Oilgul makgi
various stances- ready, short front, long front
combinations of above mentioned kicks, blocks, and punches (I read that Taekwondo focuses more on kicks so the basic punch is expected)
We have learned two basic patterns: Gi Bon Dong Jak, as well as another pattern but I cant remember the name of it.

We have also learned roughly 12 different self defense moves as well as 6 one step moves.