Suggestions for a complete beginner

Doyle

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, I've decided to start learning a martial art next month when I start university and although I've already done some research into the different disciplines available, I would like to get some other suggestions and opinions from you guys.

I'm a 19 year old guy, reasonably athletic and I've been weight training for about a year and a half.

I'm not really interested in learning the history side of martial arts or ones that deal with weapons. Ideally I would like to do something that involves both striking and grappling but I am also open to disciplines that focus on just one of these areas.

The primary reason for me starting a martial art isn't self defence although that would be a good benefit. I'd quite like to do something that can be done competitively as a sport but it needs to incorporate a reasonable amount of self defence also.

I'll be going to Loughborough University so ideally looking for schools within the Loughborough area. Additionally my uni has some martial arts society's (Freestyle kickboxing, Judo, Jiu Jitsu, MMA, Shaolin Kung Fu, Shotokan Karate, Wado Ryu Karate and Taekwondo) so these are options for me too.

Any opinions would be massively appreciated :)

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score
MMA or Freestyle Kickboxing.

If you dont want to deal with Tradition, regardless of its benefits - And just want to learn it for the Competition Sport, thats the way to go.
They dont teach Self Defense Specifically, but Trust Me when I say that what youd learn from either of these would work Swell in an Engagement.

If you have any Questions, would you kindly PM me, since flicking back to Threads to check for Responses is a bit time consuming for me personally - But i can assure you, my Responses would be needlessly thorough :)

jiujitsumonkey

White Belt
Reaction score