style combinations

S

SMAC

Lots of people these days train in a number of clubs/styles simultaneously or go to learn a new style after becoming proficient in one. I run a relaxed, social mixed styles club where anybody can teach what they know. My background is taekwondo but i have learnt some grappling skills etc from other members. Likewise, i teach judo dudes to kick.
What do you think are the best styles to combine for all round self-defence, flashiness, free fighting etc? I reckon muay thai+ brazilian jujitsu for free fighting.

Aegis

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Learning new things is always good. I would prefer to do that after becoming proficient in what is now my primary art (jujitsu) before trying it though, as I'll only confuse myself otherwise.

How does the insurence work with that? If you're teaching mixed martial arts but you only hold instructor status in TKD, who gets sued if someone gets badly hurt? I'm not saying it's a bad idea, but it is something you need to have thought about. if you teach Judo (or allow it to be taught by someone under your supervision as head instructor) without the backing of a governimg body and its insurence, you could be in trouble if an accident happens.

Dunno what others think about this, but any time I taught a class, it was only teaching what I was quallified to teach (Judo), and therefore didn't include many techniques I would have liked to teach, like strikes, wrist locks, leg locks, etc... I wouldn't have been covered against accidents if I'd taught these without the appropriate knowledge.

Interesting point for other judo practicioners: if you have a liscence to teach, after having been tested on a certain syllabus, how does your insurence get affected by teaching stuff that's still technically within the art but not tested as part of the coaching award? Strange that I never really thought of that unti;l after my coaching liscence expired.

celtic bhoy

Orange Belt
Reaction score