Starting Jujutsu

Necro

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey, i'm starting jujutsu soon and was wondering what kind of things i should practice at home, since my local dojo only has practices twice a week i feel like i should be practicing at home but things like throws or locks is kind of hard to do alone, not to mention my room is kinda small so i don't really have room for a punching bag.

also an somewhat unrelated question is that i'm slightly worried about move names, even though i'm studying japanese, i have problems remembering the names of moves and more specifically which moves they refer to.

Also, i was wondering if anyone knew what i should do about my left side, my right has always been pretty good but my left, both hit and kick tend to to kind of come from the side rather than straight which gives me problems when trying to do left-sided kicks and hits.

Does anyone have any experience with the connelly line of dojo's unfortunately that's all they have in my area?

Thanks for the help!

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi,

To begin with, the term "jujutsu" can be very generic, essentially refering to a wide range of (predominantly) unarmed or lightly armed combative methods. Initially used to refer to old systems, it is also used fairly frequently with more modern systems, which I believe Connelly Jujutsu is.

It can incorporate little to no striking or kicking, or be based almost exclusively on such actions. As a result, it is rather difficult to tell you what you should be practicing, it's like asking what you should practice as you are taking up a musical instrument (without saying which one!). Even if we just say "scales", that is not the case if the instrument is drums, for instance.