sparring

rachel

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I asked my instructor about sparring a couple of months ago. He told us yesterday that we will be starting soon. What can I expect as I've never done this before. I brought it up to him because everyone here believes it's an important part of training and I want to learn all I can and be the best I can be. So what can I expect? Besides getting hit?:D

satans.barber

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
First thing you might find is that it's a lot more tiring than anything you've done previously! Wears me out faster than padwork, techniques, line-ups or anything else we practise, that's why you've got to pace yourself at it a little bit when you spar in gradings, so youve got soemthing left for whatever's coming next!

Ian.

B

brianhunter

Originally posted by rachel
I asked my instructor about sparring a couple of months ago. He told us yesterday that we will be starting soon. What can I expect as I've never done this before. I brought it up to him because everyone here believes it's an important part of training and I want to learn all I can and be the best I can be. So what can I expect? Besides getting hit?:D

When do they introduce sparring at your school? Your a purple belt right?

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If striking to the face is allowed, the first time you get popped a good one may tweak your nerves a bit. You'll probably discover that finding range when the other fella is also moving takes some practice. If you don't breathe properly, you'll get winded quickly.

Most of all, you'll probably have a lot of fun :)

Cthulhu

M

Mikey

Sparring is fun, just remember that it is not like a street fight, use control, always hit high and low at same time ( or 1,2...1,2).
And remember, if you get in a good shot, the next one may be to you. You are using pads????

MD

KenpoTess

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score