sparring

K

kenpo 1

Hello everyone, I am new to this sight and I had a question about sparring. What are some techniques you recommend? Also what do you guys recommend when a guy likes to charge at you right from the get go? Thanks.

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Get out of the way.

Work your footwork to let you circle off and throw hooks. Don't try to stop him, don't let yourself start stepping away. As soon as he breaks your posture and get you moving backwards you are going to get hit, so move forward, at an angle, get off to the side and take your shoot.

Or just shoot and take him down ;)

Kenpodoc

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
First question. what rules are you sparring with?

In general there are 2 choices for the opponent who charges. a) meet force with force such as a hard defensive side kick to make him think twice. Or b) move off line and strike. If you do EPAK think Intercepting the Ram and Charging Ram.

As a MMA aside I watched a late night MMA fight several years ago where one guy "lost" a fight by doing Intercepting the Ram. The opponent tried to shoot low and the guy did a Knee groin, hammerfist kidney and dropped the grappler into a writhing ball on the floor. Apparently the groin shot/kidney strike was illegal and the "winner was carried out and the "loser" walked away. :rolleyes:

Jeff

Kenpojujitsu3

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Kenpodoc said:
First question. what rules are you sparring with?

In general there are 2 choices for the opponent who charges. a) meet force with force such as a hard defensive side kick to make him think twice. Or b) move off line and strike. If you do EPAK think Intercepting the Ram and Charging Ram.