solo practice

lcII

White Belt
Reaction score
what do you practice at home, as opposed to what you do in class? What, if you will, is your homework? Do you practice kata, hit the heavy bag, tire dummy, practice your techniques a set number of times?

Nolerama

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I try to shadow box and have a good cardio workout before I stretch.

Then I throw ninja stars at pictures of ex-girlfriends....

You know, the usual ;P

Welcome to MT!

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score
I perform all of my forms, self-defense techniques, shadow boxing, strength training, cardio, basics, and freestyle techniques. I also try to condition my body parts for heavier contact. I work my flexibility through yoga and daily stretching exercises.

I also shoot my firearms working on all fundementals.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Since I'm a newbie, I practice my crescent step. A lot. Basic exercises, plus I practice my Japanese names for exercises, a requirement for the next belt.

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
At home I practise my basic tai sabaki and kihon. These are just the basics to learn various body movements to evade and counter. I repeat them regularly. I also do a lot of light leg stretching every day to make myself more flexible, and push-ups.

I have a heavy thai bag that I still need to hang in my garage. When that is done I can get back to practising munches and kicks.

KELLYG

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I slow techniques (new and old) down to insure proper form and to insure it is committed to muscle memory. I also have a book that I right new things down or my personal ah ha moments on old techniques. I also mentally go over things in my head visualizing what it looks like, especially forms.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score