So, I have a domain. Now what?

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Once you've bought a domain name how do you actually start building the site to go with it? I have Notepad plus loaded on my computer for an editor. This entire thing will be a learning experience for me as I've never done anything like this before. The ultimate goal is to redo the site for my school and have it hosted by Bob. Unfortunately I'll likely be shihan of our system before I get this.:uhyeah: Any help for the clueless would be greatly appreciated....please? Anybody?

tahuti

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Step 2 - find hosting provider
Step 3 - upload your code, media files (images, video,...)

Now depending how much you know about coding you might code from scratch or use CMS (content managment system), check [SIZE=-1]http://www.opensourcecms.com/ they have plenty of demos. If you don't know where to start look into Joomla, Drupal.
[/SIZE]

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
For a quick (ie short learning curve and fast setup) you can use a content manager system like Drupal, or phpNuke. Pluses are, its all web based similar to posting messages on a forum. Downside is, minimal customization unless you really dig into it.

Slightly longer but still a short learning curve would be to go the Frontpage route. It requires special stuff installed on your hosting account to fully work (not a problem), but is a very user friendly if somewhat limited (from a pro perspective) beginner solution. Drag, drop, etc.

Much higher learning curve but with the most flexibility is to get something like Dreamweaver. It's a pro tool, with a sometimes steep learning curve, but it is the most flexible.

You can also always hire a professional to do the initial design and then you maintain it.