Sign of being hacked?

sholo86

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Last night my wife told me that her cam light turned on by itself while she was starting to doze off to sleep. She remembered turning off her cam and logging off yahoo messenger after we spoke online. She clicked on the cam icon on her desktop and it says "1 viewer". She tried to see who the viewer was but came up with no address. She turned the cam off, but within 10 minutes her cam light came back on again. She believes somebody has hacked into her computer. She went ahead and shut her computer down.

Is this a sign of somebody hacking into her computer? Has this happened to you and what did you do to counter it? If they were able to access her cam, I guess they can access her files too right? I'm not good with computers, I just turn it on and off, so any advice is always helpfull...thanks

Ping898

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have no experience with webcams so don't quite no what to tell you, but I am a firm believer in leaving a hate or towel over the webcam when it is not in use....why take chances someone will see something you don't want them too...

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The easiest way to tell whether there truly is an external source tapped in to the camera is to break the network connection. If it doesn't turn back on again then that would seem to show you have a 'spy'.

Also, if there is a physical power switch on the device and you turn it off, then, provided that you disable wake-on-LAN, there is no way it can turned on again by an external source.

The short term solution is just to unplug the thing when you're not using it - 100% security there :D.