Shinden yoshin ryu

Jonny Figgis

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Do you know anything about the American Federation of Jujitsu? They teach Yoshin Ryu. Would like to hear if you know of them and if you have any comments? I am thinking of studying with them but I'm new to jujitsu. My background is I'm a self defence instructor and studied krav maga, shotokan, kempo and other arts.

Nice website!

OP
jtweymo

jtweymo

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Geez sorry about that!

My first reply bounced off and didn't enter!

I know the AFJ, I been a member for about 10-11 years now. It don't practice politics (the people and schools involved just wanna practice Jujutsu and Judo.) They won't steal your money either (always a plus!!)

There are a whole lot of different kinds of Yoshin schools and instructors involved in the AFJ. Everything from American eclectric adaptations of (jujutsu and aikido) to much more traditional forms of Yoshin ryu such as adaptations of Shinto yoshin ryu, for example. My own Shinden yoshin ryu is listed with them as well, of course. Many of the Yoshin schools and instructors in the AFJ alligned to the form of Yoshin ryu being taught by Master Moore and so they use the curriculum and techniques of that form of Yoshin ryu. As far as I can tell, I dunno fure sure, but it appears to be an adaptation of one of the traditional forms of Shinto yoshin ryu brought to the United states back in the 1960's by American sevricemen stationed in Okinawa. It uses nomenclature and techniques that are obviously related to this form of Shinto yoshin ryu on record in older texts from that time period (that's my source of comparison.) If I got my wires crossed I apologize but it's listed techniques seem to come from those schools.

The AFJ is very relaxed and has all kinds of people in it, all over the country. If ya like federations, it's a nice one since there's no politics and they won't steal your money. They just wanna practice Jujutsu and Judo.