Saiga 12?

Cryozombie

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Anyone have an opinion of the Saiga 12?

I'm a fan of the AK and I've been considering a new shotgun for a couple months... my coworker mentioned the Saiga to me, and I watched a few videos and read some reviews and it seems like somthing worth owning.

I have an 870, but a second shotgun, especially since it's different, being Semi-auto wouldn't be a bad addition to my firearms collection, if they are good firearms. I have read they have some problems Jamming, for example if you load them with the bolt closed, or if you store the ammo in the magazine for an extended period of time (and the reviewer listed extended period of time as approx a month)

Anyone have experience with them either good or bad they can share before I make any purchasing decsions?

punisher73

Senior Master
Reaction score
I have no personal knowledge about the gun other than what I have read. But, for what it's worth one of our firearms instructors just went through a shotgun instructor school for law enforcement and a couple of the guys there had the new Saiga's.

The deputy said that they were neat guns, but the only malfunctions that occured at the range were on the Saiga's none of the Remington's had any problems.

The Remington and Mossberg might be plain guns without alot of fancy stuff, but I think that is what makes them so reliable and the choice of most LE agencies (along with cost).

Andy Moynihan

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
People's Banana Republic of Massachusettstan, Disu
Be forewarned that Saiga 12 magazines are rare as well. ( Standard capacity is 8 shells which until you and I can manage to leave MA and IL and rejoin the United States, are over the 5 round semi shotgun fake "assault" limit and the Saiga 12 being post 94 we can't circumvent that.

If you MUST have a semi shotgun, it must be a Benelli, or the new Mossberg 930 series.

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni