Proactive citizens defending neighborhood (Robocop)

Ceicei

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
There is a citizen who is tired of night time drug dealers and homeless people roaming and trespassing on properties. Often times, there are used syringes and condoms left on the ground for children during the day to pick up. The police haven't been able to curb this problem much, so a citizen decided to take action...

http://www.cnn.com/2008/CRIME/03/06/bum.bot/index.html#cnnSTCText

Meredith says people often toss used syringes and condoms onto the playground.
Terrill, an engineer by trade, is also a board member at the day care center. Tired of cleaning up after the shady characters, he decided to take action. That's when he built his downtown Darth Vader of sorts.

The police is objecting and saying that the owner of the robot may be charged with assault.

Police Major Lane Hagin says the robot is definitely a different crime-fighting idea. "There's no problem with the robot going up and down the street or being visible or any of the other things it does -- with the exception of spraying water on people."
Hagin adds, "Then, it becomes an assault no matter where it happens."

- Ceicei

Darth F.Takeda

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I think it's a great idea.

It's sad when the cops get uppity about people defending their own areas.
Seeing as the cops cant do it, someone should.

still learning

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hello, Neighbor watch is excellant program....only thing it takes all the neighbors to "WANT" to help out.

It means getting as much people to be involve (proactive citizens).

Aloha

newGuy12

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Hahaha! "Okay, you! Put the condom and syringe down NOW, and move along!"
"Don't force me to spray you with cold water!"

Hahahaha!!! That is a good thing!

Guardian

Black Belt
Reaction score