Preparing for my First Real Tournament

Da Supa Freak

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey, martialtalk...ers... (I guess that works :p),

I've been training in Karate for a few months and I have enrolled to enter my first real tournament coming up on May 2. I've gone through my first belt test to get to Yellow and my sensei held a mini-tournament for his us soon-to-test white belts right before then. So, I feel a little prepared on the nervousness issue (kata's always a problem when I get nervous...) However, I still would like to see what those here who are more experienced would have to give in advice, etc. on preparing for it; both physically and mentally. I'm not sure on the total number of participants, yet, but it's taking place at a major High School in the area and is affiliated with, so I think it's going to be pretty big.

I can't really think of specific questions to ask, but feel free to talk about lessons learned from your first tourneys. :D

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Just remember just do what you have been doing and everything will turn out great.....

Nolerama

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I just had my first grappling tournament, but I think my experiences might be useful to you:

Film your performance, take notes, and work on your game.

Remember that at the end of the day, be happy that you stepped onto the mat and competed.

Celebrate the experience with some close gym/dojo buddies and start planning for the next tournament.

Have fun.

Ironcrane

Blue Belt
Reaction score