Please Add your Modern Arnis Bio!!!

Guro Harold

Senior Master
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The MT Modern Arnis Forum would like for you to submit your bio so that people can learn about you. Rank is unimportant. Its time for a MA meet and greet!!!

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm a nobody, but I think this thread was a nice idea so I'll try to help things along! I started Modern Arnis seriously in 1987, though I had been introduced to some of its ideas before by my high school buddy Tim Hartman and had even attended a class at John Bryant's school some years earlier (at Mr. Hartman's invitation). I have been studying the martial arts since 1978. During the summer of 1987, Mr. Hartman and I practiced daily for 3-6 hours each day. It was an intensive introduction to the system! I was promoted to lakan in 1989 at the Buffalo camp. Three guys had tried to mug me two weeks earlier--one with a knife--and the Professor was so impressed that I defended myself, even though I was somewhat embarrassed that I hadn't seriously hurt any of my opponents, that he awarded me my black belt without testing! I was Mr. Hartman's first student to be promoted to lakan. I attended many Michigan camps from 1987 through the mid-90s and sat on many promotion boards, but then mostly attended seminars for the Professor's last few years due to job-induced location changes. I'm now a lakan apat in the WMAA, and chair of its Board of Advisors. I'm also an admin at FMATalk.com. Previously I was admin of another martial arts web board.

I only teach my son right now as a I have a full-time job as a college professor that keeps me quite busy. (Prof. Presas always told me how impressed he was that I had a doctorate--he was so very supportive of education!) I have taught at a WMAA camp and have frequently assisted Mr. Hartman at seminars and camps.