Picking up old habits

MeDemitto

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first post on MT.

I am interested in starting (and resuming) studies in the Martial Arts. As a young child I studied Taekwondo up to green belt and MMA a bit later in life for a relatively short period. I've not had a lot of luck finding a school that I'm happy with and am looking for some advice.

I live in a very very rural area (basically middle of nowhere) and the school selection is extremely limited. I am interested in beginning a sort of self study program, and am wondering if anyone has any preferences for media (books, dvds, training programs, et cetera).

I am primarily interested in more percussive arts with an emphasis on the kicking aspect. (Taekwondo, karate, savate, muay thai, certain aspects of kung fu, are some I have been particularily interested in). I am exclusively interested in open hand combat; and again have little interest in grappling or lock-type maneuvers.

I would appreciate any advice or references anyone could give. Particularily interested in those who've been around the block a little bit and maybe tried a few of these packaged programs and can offer some feedback on a few.

Hawke

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Greetings MeDemitto,

Welcome to Martial Talk.

May I ask what is your intended purpose for your study of the martial arts?

Exercise? Self defense? To preserve the art to hand down to another generation?

Depending on your purpose your mind set will change. You will look at the art in a certain way.

There are many people teaching martial arts online or through mediums such as youtube (Choson Ninja comes to mind). Some places have a distant learning program where you video tape yourself and send the recording to the teacher for review (Silat Serak comes to mind).