overtraining for newbie

dapidmini

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been training aikido for 4 years and I've just started learning wing chun. I've never trained in hitting something repetitively, but in wing chun I need to hit a hard target in various ways. I'm using a pile of paper as a target for training at home as instructed by my instructor. I've just finished punching the target about 300 times and now my body's feeling a bit weird.. my hand is tingling and the bone above my eyes hurts a little. although, those sensations are not extreme. is it normal?

NB: I've only attend 1 official class and my next class is this sunday. but I want to train hard so I can get a better result faster..

mook jong man

Senior Master
Reaction score
Stop punching the pile of paper , get yourself a canvas wall bag and practice your striking on that.In the mean time just practice your continuous punch in the air whilst in your stance.The symptoms you describe are not normal , you probably just over did it , but to be on the safe side maybe you should get checked out by a G.P.

Jenna

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
The hand injury could be nerve damage. Are you really going from nothing to hitting a ream of paper repetitively? Wow, that is some in at the deep end training. You will not be training faster and harder if you have busted your hand beyond use. I would suggest calming your zeal and taking it a little easier until you are calloused up fully and used to the impacts.

How did you get the head injury? Head injuries should never be taken lightly. As already suggested, a quick trip to your family doctor might be worthwhile.

kungfu penguin

Green Belt
Reaction score