Looking for Guidance

Linly86

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a newbie from a rural area. I'm heading off to college next year and I want to pick up a martial art. My only prior experience was obtaining a yellow belt in karate back in elementary school. Since then I've just been playing football, which doesn't really help with martial arts, but I'm not planning on being one of those big guys who doesn't engage.

I've been doing a lot of research on what I should study, but I haven't had much luck. Most of the styles of MA out there are just words to me, so I was wondering if you could help me out.

I want to know if there's a style out there that emphasizes upper body striking and doesn't do any crazy acrobatic stuff. (I'm 6'1" and 250 lbs, I can't do a back flip so save my life.) Ideally it would be a style softer than karate, but harder than Aikido. And the more unconventional the better. (That might sound a bit newbie-ish, but I'm planning on using any experience I gain to use towards self defense, and I think the more unconventional the style, the better advantage I have.)

I would just like to thank you ahead of time, and say that I'm really looking forward to getting to know all of you.

shima

K3NPO
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a newbie from a rural area. I'm heading off to college next year and I want to pick up a martial art. My only prior experience was obtaining a yellow belt in karate back in elementary school. Since then I've just been playing football, which doesn't really help with martial arts, but I'm not planning on being one of those big guys who doesn't engage.

I've been doing a lot of research on what I should study, but I haven't had much luck. Most of the styles of MA out there are just words to me, so I was wondering if you could help me out.