Over time over kill

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm going to speak on a personnal note about my life on martial arts over the years, this was brought up by a student I have known for thirty something years different style so bear with me.

I started training at the ripe old age of two did I know what I was doing, heck no do I remember my training another heck no, then how do I know I satrted at that age, simple question, simple answer because my father said I did, see he trained over a 10,000 men while he was in the service, he has old 8 mm film showing me trying to kick and punch along side my brothers and sisters.

When do I remember my first real training, I was six and by this time I have been training for four years and by george I was still a white belt how do I know because my father said so and those damm 8 mm films show it again. I can remember kicking a tree with a old mattress wrapped around it as if it was yesterday, now rewmember this is over forty years ago.

When I recieved my yellow belt I was eight and I was the happiest person anywhere that yeallow belt meant more to me than and other things in my life it had meaning, which was I have grown out of early child hood and could train with the older people you know the real MA'ers those 10 and 11 year old people, over the years I finally got to BB level I was 19 years old and I relized on that day that my training was really beginning, for it was then that I really stated to compete and I got my head nearly knocked off. 5 years later I started to gain enlightment what Martial Arts was for me not my father or all my other instructors but for me alone, tournaments was a fun way of getting to know how my training was going and to my amazement the more I won the less happier I was, it just did not seem right that people was out there for the sport and not the Art.