Only an opinion: spare me.

KangTsai

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello. I know hardly anything about what one learns when practising jeet kun do. I have no training experience in any related arts. Here's a small thought.
If Bruce Lee created JKD with the foundation of a style-less art of his own, isn't it hypocritical to teach JKD as a style? Something Bruce Lee directly opposed?

Charlemagne

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello. I know hardly anything about what one learns when practising jeet kun do. I have no training experience in any related arts. Here's a small thought.
If Bruce Lee created JKD with the foundation of a style-less art of his own, isn't it hypocritical to teach JKD as a style? Something Bruce Lee directly opposed?

It's a fair question in my view, and one that has been beat up on many a MA forum over the years.

Not everyone teaches it as a set style. For example, Dan Inosanto and his students often teach what they refer to as JKD Concepts, and are quite willing to blend in other things as they find them. Most guys in his lineage are using Thai kicks these days rather than kicks from Savate for example. He teaches a separate system of Jun Fan Kung Fu, which seems to be more the set style that Lee taught. There are other first generation JKD instructors teaching it more as a set system, and they will argue with those who don't see it their way.

Jeet Kune Do Concepts or Original/Jun Fan Jeet Kune Do? • /r/jkd

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
From Bruce Lee

I have not invented a "new style," composite, modified or otherwise that is set within distinct form as apart from "this" method or "that" method. On the contrary, I hope to free my followers from clinging to styles, patterns, or molds. Remember that Jeet Kune Do is merely a name used, a mirror in which to see "ourselves". . . Jeet Kune Do is not an organized institution that one can be a member of. Either you understand or you don't, and that is that.