Old to Wado new to Koryu Bujustu

Sojobo

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a schizophrenic martial artist.

I have studied, trained in and taught traditional Wado ryu karate over the last 25 years – and am not keen on cross pollination of Karate styles.

However, I also enjoy researching (and more recently training in) Koryu Bujutsu - or classical warrior arts of Japan.

Let’s see how this goes.

Gary

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hey Gary, welcome aboard. Koryu, huh.... any particular interest?

Oh, and just a friendly heads-up, your choice of screen name may stir some memories for some people here, just so you know. Don't be too surprised if you are mistaken for another (former) member...

OP
Sojobo

Sojobo

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hey Gary, welcome aboard. Koryu, huh.... any particular interest?

Oh, and just a friendly heads-up, your choice of screen name may stir some memories for some people here, just so you know. Don't be too surprised if you are mistaken for another (former) member...

Hello Chris,

Sorry to hear my choice of name may be controversial - I will do my best to avoid unnecessary contention :)

Reference Koryu:

I studied a little Daito-ryu (which included a small amount of sword work in it). This wet my appetite, but the training times were awkward for me (taking into account my Wado training and teaching).

Recently however, I have been lucky enough to find an instructor who was prepared to teach me in his school. The name of the Koryu is Sosuishi-ryu. It is a Bujutsu that encompasses close quarter fighting (with or without weapons) and sword usage.

As I said - I am completely new to it, and I enjoy being new to something again and the challenges that presents.

Gary

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Well, let's see, you have a total of three posts (so far!), and you are already miles beyond your predecessor! So little risk there, I feel.