A

AlbertDC

Wanted to get your advice. I just started training in Modern Arnis, does anyone have any suggestions on books or videos I should get to increase my knowledge base.

Thanks

Dan Anderson

Master of Arts
Reaction score
My book De-Fanging The Snake: A Guide To Modern Arnis Disarms is a good start. Do to the website below for more info on it.

Yours,
Dan Anderson

Flatlander

Grandmaster
Reaction score
AlbertDC said:
Wanted to get your advice. I just started training in Modern Arnis, does anyone have any suggestions on books or videos I should get to increase my knowledge base.

Thanks
AlbertDC, congratulations on your obviously brilliant decision to study Modern Arnis, and welcome to Martial Talk!

Feel free to browse the forums, and help yourself to the heap of good info. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask.

I don't own Defanging the Snake, but I do have 2 other of SM Dan Anderson's books, and found them to be very good.

Happy posting!
icon7.gif

Guro Harold

Senior Master
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score

bart

Brown Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hey There,

Although I'm pretty sure that you meant technical manuals, I think it is just as important to learn a bit about the history, culture and socio-political environment of the Philippines, specifically concerning the relationship of the Philippines to the United States. This book: In Our Image: America's Empire in the Philippines (isbn 0345328167) by Stanley Karnow gives a pretty detailed background in a pretty easily readable format.

Understanding the historical and cultural back drop to the art can help in the areas of:

Terminology - Spanish? Tagalog? Bisaya? English? Why?
The Eclectic Nature of Arnis - Integration of Kung Fu, Karate, Boxing, etc.
Symbolism - Flags, bowing, etc.
Visiting the Philippines - Training and Learning in the homeland of the art