New to the forum

S

Steve Scott

Hello. My name is Steve Scott and I am the head coach of the Welcome Mat Judo and Jujitsu Club in Kansas City, MO. My background is in judo, Shingitai jujitsu and competitive sambo. I started judo in 1965 at the age of 12 and have been involved ever since.
My resume is a fairly lengthy one, having traveled to over a dozen countries, served as a national coach for USJI and was involved heavily in sambo from 1976 to about 1990 (I still teach sambo from time to time). I was the U.S. team coach for 2 world junior (under 21) judo championships, the coach for the U.S. sambo team at the 1983 Pan American Games in Caracas, Venezuela (the only time sambo was included in the Pan American Games...there is an annual Pan American tournament, but not the Games which is an IOC function) and very active in judo and sambo development for many years on the national level. In 1994, I helped re-start the judo program for the AAU and have been somewhat active in that through the years. In the mid-1990s, I turned my attention to teaching self-defense and jujitsu and I'm now "semi-retired" from competitive judo and sambo coaching, and am very active in John Saylor's Shingitai Jujitsu Association. Although I received my black belt in jujitsu (Kodenkan) in 1969, I didn't actively teach much self-defense and jujitsu until 1994. Now, the jujitsu program at my dojo is bigger than my judo program.
I check my computer about 2 or 3 times a week, so if you post a message or send me a message, I will answer, but it may take a few days. I'm not real computer savvy, having been dragged into the 21st Century and actually learning how to use this thing!
I do send out a free online newsletter about judo, jujitsu and sambo, and if you are interested in receiving it, let me know and I'll put you on the mailing list. It comes out once a month.