New in Virginia

varick

White Belt
Reaction score
I am new to the Richmond Virginia area having recently moved from New Jersey, where I had a less than pleasurable experience with my last TKD school (virtually little instruction, people constantly getting hurt, etc). In seeking out a new Tae Kwon Do school in my new locale, I am cautious and I am looking for a very reputable school. So far, only two names have come up, Master Dong's and Master Chos. Both of these schools are in the Glen Allen area. How do I investigate the schools? People always reply to my inquiries, "just try a school to see if you like it". I was hoping to at least start with a schools reputation. Does anyone recogonize either of these schools, or have any other recommendations in the area?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

VARICK

HKphooey

Senior Master
Reaction score
First off, welcome to MT! :)

I am not fimiliar with any schools in your area, I am sure you will have some great advise for the rest of the MT group.

Gemini

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome to MT, varick!

I'm surprised to hear your experience in Jersey was so bad. There are so many reputable schools there.

I was looking at one time near Richmond also. Give me a little time and I'll come up with some quality names for you. I'm not familiar with the ones you posted, but I'll see what I can find out.

In the meantime, why don't you head over to the Meet and Greet section and post a "hello" over there. :)

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First, welcome, and happy posting!

Second, being in Colorado, I am also not familiar with the names you post, or Richmond, for that matter. In addition to walking into the classes and trying them out, here are some other things to consider: